Visit us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Local News



The Morning Buzz

Big Deal

Lummis Defends States’ Rights Against ACLU

Submitted by rebecca on July 19, 2010 – 4:04 pmNo Comment

Press Release: July 16

From the Office of Cynthia Lummis

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Representative Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), along with 17 other Members of Congress, signed an amicus brief opposing a lawsuit filed by the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) to block enforcement of Arizona’s new immigration law.

The brief, written by the Washington Legal Foundation, urges the U.S. District Court for Arizona to reject an effort by the ACLU to prevent the implementation of SB 1070, the Support Our Law Enforcement and Safe Neighborhoods Act. The Arizona Legislature passed SB 1070 in April. The bill gives local law enforcement the ability to question suspected illegal immigrants. It also requires immigrants to carry registration documents, which is already mandated by federal law.

The ACLU lawsuit, filed in May, challenges the constitutionality of the Arizona immigration law.

“For far too long, the federal government has neglected its duty to secure our borders and enforce its own immigration laws. Illegal immigration, violence, and drug activity along the border are not recent developments. Arizona has taken matters into its own hands to protect its citizens and communities and has every right to do so,” Lummis said.

The brief states that SB 1070 is not pre-empting existing federal law, which already provides for state and federal cooperation in immigration enforcement. It argues that the ACLU lawsuit is based on speculation and cites no actual instances in which the state law conflicts with federal immigration laws already on the books.

U.S. Representatives who signed the amicus brief:

U.S. Representative Dan Burton (IN), U.S. Representative Trent Franks (AZ), U.S. Representative Sam Graves (MO), U.S. Representative Wally Herger (CA), U.S. Representative Duncan Hunter (CA), U.S. Representative Steve King (IA), U.S. Representative Doug Lamborn (CO), U.S. Representative Tom McClintock (CA), U.S. Representative Gary Miller (CA), U.S. Representative Jerry Moran (KS), U.S. Representative Sue Myrick (NC), U.S. Representative Ted Poe (TX), U.S. Representative Denny Rehberg (MT), U.S. Representative Dana Rohrabacher (CA), U.S. Representative Phil Roe (TN), U.S. Representative Mike Simpson (ID),U.S. Representative Lamar Smith (TX);

RSS feed


No comments yet.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.