Visit us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter

Local News



The Morning Buzz

Big Deal

Fourteen university students receive Washakie scholarships

Submitted by Newsroom on May 3, 2013 – 7:53 amNo Comment

Written by KVOW/KTAK News Director Leslie Stratmoen

LARAMIE — Chief Washakie scholarships that are given to University of Wyoming students with ties to the Wind River Reservation in Fremont County have been awarded. The college named 14 recipients for the coming academic year.

They are Caitlin Brown, Lorraine Goggles and Mia and Nicola Holt of Lander; Rain Chippewa of Fort Washakie, Colleen Friday of Laramie, Jesse Mosse of Arapahoe, and Franklin Lanier, Shane Lawson and Tacy Thornley of Riverton. The four remaining, who will have their scholarships continue, are Melvin Arthur of Ethete, Kristie Asay of Riverton, Vittrio Capitan of Fort Washakie and Nan Craft of St. Stephens.

The exact amount to be given to each student was not included in the college release. The scholarship funds come from an endowment of $400,000 created in 2003 by the Chief Washakie Foundation. The students will be formally recognized at the American Indian Studies Honoring of Graduates ceremony next Friday night, which starts at 6 in the garden ballroom at the university’s conference center on Grand Avenue.

RSS feed


No comments yet.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.